Natural Recipes

Oats Cleansing Scrub (all skin types)

  • 1 teaspoon of colloidal oatmeal
  • 1 teaspoon of raw honey
  • 1 teaspoon of yogurt
  • ½ teaspoon of sea salt (omit if you have dry or sensitive skin)
  • ½ teaspoon of almond oil (optional, for dry skin)

Combine all ingredients together in a bowl. Apply after rinsing face several times with warm water. Massage gently into your skin with upward, outward circular motion. Rinse with tepid water.

Cucumber Toner w/ Honey (oily and/or blemished skin)

  • 1 peeled, seeded, and mashed cucumber
  • ½ teaspoon of raw honey

Put ingredients in an electric blender, and blend until smooth. Bottle and refrigerate. Apply to face with a cotton ball. Rinse with tepid water.

Pioneer Spirit Toner (all skin types)

  • 1 teaspoon of witch hazel (use aloe vera juice for dry skin)
  • 1 egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1 peeled mashed cucumber
  • 1 teaspoon of rose water (or distilled water)
  • ½ teaspoon of raw honey
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons of plain yogurt (optional)

Put ingredients in an electric blender, and blend until smooth. Bottle and refrigerate. Apply to face with a cotton ball. Rinse with tepid water.

Rosehip Seed Spritz (dry and/or sensitive skin)

  • 5-8 drops of rosehip seed oil or rose oil
  • 4 oz. of distilled water

Put water into a spritz bottle and add essential oil. Shake bottle, spray on face, and let it air dry. You can use this several times a day if you desire.

Sweet Almond Oil Moisturizer w/ Essential Oils (all skin types)

  • 5 drops of sweet almond oil
  • 1-2 drops of essential oil of your choice

Put 5 drops of sweet almond in a small container or bottle. Add essential oils of your choice.  Shake the container/bottle, apply to face. (FYI: Because it’s such a small amount of oils, I pour them one at a time in the palm of my hand and mix with my finger. 🙂 )

Sources:

“Naturally Beautiful: Earth’s Secrets and Recipes for Skin, Body, and Spirit.” By Dawn Gallagher.

4 thoughts on “Natural Recipes

  1. i use a very similar cinnamon scrub myself
    if i stick to it long enough my skin glows, also i believe the oats and cinnamon are great in removing blemishes and aiding radiance?
    thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Hey there Reem!!! 😀 Thanks for commenting and sharing! 😀 I just checked out your blog and I love it! 😉 I’m officially a follower! 😀 I have heard that cinnamon has several skin care and health benefits. 🙂 I’m scared to try it though, because I have sensitive skin. 😛 I do love the way oats make my skin so soft though. 🙂 Perhaps if I use a very small amount of cinnamon with oats I may not have a reaction…?? What do you think? I do want to give it a shot. I just want to be careful as well. 🙂

    • Hello again Reem! Thanks for your input. I appreciated it! 😉 Well, I tried putting a very small amount of cinnamon on my face and….I LOVED IT! 😀 I decided to add cinnamon to an egg mask and it worked wonders! Some of my pimples were reduced while I was wearing the mask! I didn’t notice until after the application was rinsed off. I was in complete shock! 😀 So thank you for sharing again! 😉 I will be sure to mention you in a post I’m going to do soon about the magic of cinnamon! LOL! 😉 Thanks, Reem!

Leave a Reply

