The Beauty of Milk & Yogurt

Hey guys!

I’d like to share with you how milk and yogurt have become my BFFs in skin care. πŸ™‚ I’ve done a few posts on yogurt already, so you know this stuff must be good! LOL! πŸ˜‰ Milk is my new love. About 2 years ago, I picked up this book called “Naturally Beautiful” by Dawn Gallagher. In it she shares numerous homemade natural recipes for skin, body, and hair. One of the beauty routines I decided to try was milk masks. My love for milk grew from there. πŸ™‚

NEWS FLASH: Milk is not only good for your bones, but it’s also great for your complexion!

To be accurate it is the calcium in milk that strengthens our bones, but that’s irrelevant to our current discussion. πŸ™‚ What I want to talk about is the lactic acid in milk, which acts as a gentle exfoliator when applied to the skin. It removes dead skin cells with the greatest of ease, so your skin is not stripped, irritated, or inflamed. That’s good news for people with acne prone skin or sensitive skin, like myself. Most commercial exfoliators are much too harsh for the epidermis. They tear at the skin, causing damage and a severe sensitivity to other skin care products that are applied. You want to be kind to your skin, guys! πŸ˜‰

Cow milk is great for all skin types. It hydrates, smooths, and softens the skin. Buttermilk can be used as a face cleanser for oily skin types. Soy milk is also said to have desirable qualities for the skin.

Bottom Line: Your complexion will shine like the sun! πŸ˜€ Well…maybe not like the sun, but you will notice a fresh and radiant glow. πŸ™‚ Also, (I almost forgot) with continued use your acne scars and dark spots will gradually fade away. Now isn’t that something?! Cheap, gentle, and you get great looking skin! I’m onboard! πŸ™‚

IMG_2356

Before I Started Using Milk Masks & Yogurt (Click on pics to make bigger)

IMG_0106

After Using Milk Masks & Yogurt for about 1 1/2 year

So when you’re ready to take it a step further, have yourself a milk bath! πŸ™‚ Pour 2-4 cups of milk in your warm bath water and soak for 15-20 minutes. I like to do this 2 times a week at the least. Results: gorgeous, smooth, glowing skin from head to toe! Who doesn’t want that? πŸ™‚

Now let’s move on to my other BFF: Yogurt! I also learned about the goodness of yogurt from the book I mentioned earlier in this post. Yogurt and milk have very similar properties, thus; possess the same great benefits for your skin. You can use yogurt as a facial mask, a face cleanser (oily/normal skin types, add a natural oil for dry skin), or a body scrub.

I love to do home spa treatments! πŸ˜€ I’ll light some candles, cue the relaxing music, pour some milk in my bath, and drift off. πŸ™‚ If I’m not in the mood for a bath, I’ll have a shower and use yogurt as a body scrub (use plain yogurt!). If I just want a quickie, then I’ll do either a milk or yogurt mask (leave it on till it dries, rinse). Remember, you can add additional ingredients to enhance the benefits. You can put essential oils in your bath, cut and mash some fresh produce and put it in a milk or yogurt mask (click here for simple yogurt recipe), or add natural oils. Whatever floats your boat, do it and enjoy! πŸ˜‰

Nastassia

Leave a Reply

