Baking Soda Clarifying Shampoo & Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

Did you know that baking soda and apple cider vinegar are great for clarifying the hair, removing product buildup and residue, and dirt from the scalp and hair follicles? That’s right! Baking soda and apple cider vinegar (a.k.a ACV) have excellent cleansing properties, and can help give hair its luster and beauty back! So look no further than your kitchen cupboard for healthy and beautiful hair!! πŸ™‚

ACV and BS

Hair Tips

Most store-bought shampoos have harsh chemicals and detergents in them that disturb the hair’s natural oil balance. When you wash your hair with harsh shampoos that contain sulfates, they will make your hair more dry, brittle, cause frizz, and breakage. Try switching to a sulfate-free or non-sulfate shampoo to bring health and vitality back to your hair. Also, try washing your hair less often. Too much washing is not good for hair! It dries it out! Try washing the hair once, twice, or thrice a week or maybe even every other day.

When Clarifying…

Clarifying the hair is like an extra super cleanse, as opposed to regular cleansing. In my personal opinion, youΒ onlyΒ want to clarifyΒ ONCEΒ orΒ TWICEΒ a month!Β Ever heard of the saying β€œ too much of a good thing, can sometimes be bad?”  Well, that saying applies here. πŸ™‚Β Baking soda will gently cleanse and clarify the scalp and hair, while ACV will give the hair shine and rinse away any remaining residue.Β Washing with baking soda and rinsing with ACV is great, but abusing it can result in very dry and rough-to-the touch hair. This wonderful experience happened to me. πŸ˜‰ I got a little carried away and used this combo once a week. My hair got drier and drier, until it felt like a rough brillo pad. Let me just say, my detangling sessions sucked big time! πŸ˜› Once I realized my error, I reduced my use to once a month. Now my hair looks and feels great! πŸ˜€

Me

Baking Soda Shampoo Recipe

  • 1 Tablespoon of baking soda
  • 1Β  Cup of warm water
  • Squeeze bottle

Dissolve the baking soda in warm water. Pour mixture into a squeeze bottle. Distribute mixture evenly onto scalp and length of hair. You can easily make another batch if you feel you need to, but don’t over do it! We’re not going for squeaky clean, stripped, or dried out hair. If your hair feels like any of the latter then you have used too much, and you need to reduce the measurement on your next application. You want your hair to feel clean, but still maintain a feeling of moisture and suppleness. Leave the mixture on for 5 minutes, then rinse with warm water.

Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

  • 1 Table spoon of ACV
  • 1 cup of warm water

Combine the ingredients. Hang head upside down, and pour mixture evenly over hair and scalp. Leave it on for 5 minutes, then rinse with COLD water. Cold water closes the cuticle, seals the moisture in, and the combination of the ACV and cold water creates shine.

Not only is this method of clarifying your hair natural and better for your hair, but it’s cheap! πŸ˜€ I hope you try it, and if you do let me know what you think in the comment box.

Happy Washing!

Nastassia

20 thoughts on “Baking Soda Clarifying Shampoo & Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

  1. Well i tried the apple cider rinse earlier today…must say it did quite a gud job at cleaning my hair…my hair also feels pretty silky and it does look shiny.I wear loose twists pretty often and so quite a bit of my washes are done with my hair twisted.Usually, after a wash i’d do a couple of twists over because the washes usually leave them quite frizzy and the cold water i used like totally minimized that #learned something today πŸ™‚ thnx 4 ur article hope others fiund it as useful as I did

    • Why hello there! πŸ™‚ Thank you for your lovely comment! I enjoyed reading it! πŸ™‚ I appreciate you sharing your results with me. Also, I’m so very glad that this method of cleansing worked for you. I really enjoy using this combo to clarify. πŸ˜‰ Yes! πŸ˜€ Rinsing with cold water makes my hair feel very soft, moisturized, and also keeps the frizz down. πŸ™‚ Just remember not to use this approach more than twice a month, as it can be very drying! πŸ˜› Cheers!

  2. Do you follow up with conditioner? I want to try it, but I was thinking to do the AVC rinse after the conditioner. What do you think? have you tried it?

    • Why hello there! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for visiting my blog, and taking the time to comment! πŸ™‚ I do follow up with conditioner. It’s important to restore moisture to the hair after clarifying it. I actually haven’t tried applying conditioner first, and then doing an ACV rinse. I wouldn’t recommend it, but if you’d like to experiment anyway then let me know the results please. πŸ™‚ The reason I think you shouldn’t try this is Baking Soda and ACV rinses are meant to thoroughly cleanse the hair. It will remove the dirt, oil, and build-up of every product you ever put on your scalp and hair. Although ACV closes the hair shaft to keep moisture in, it also provides additional cleansing and removes any remaining residue the Baking Soda missed. So you really want to replenish your hair with the moisture it loss from this deep cleansing process. To reopen the hair follicles after you’ve closed them with ACV, rinse your hair with warm water, put a plastic bag/shower cap on, and wrap a towel around your head to trap heat. You could also use a blow dryer if you prefer. I prefer the spa method. πŸ˜‰ Sit in your bathtub with the plastic bag/shower cap on, and the curtain closed to trap the steam in from the hot water (not scalding water, just hot enough that you can sit in it comfortably). Leave the towel on for 1-3 hours, blow dry for about 10-20 minutes, or sit in your bathtub for 20 minutes. Then seal the moisture in with an oil, a gel, or a cream. Hope this helps! πŸ™‚

    • Hey, hey, Anna! πŸ™‚ I’m very glad that this works wonders for you as it does for me. πŸ™‚ I too have tried so many shampoos, all of which severely dried my hair out and caused a tangled mess! πŸ˜› This combo has been a tried and true method for me, so I’m sticking to it! πŸ˜‰ Thank you so so much for commenting, and letting me know about your success! πŸ˜€ Stay tuned for more hair tips and tricks… I just gotta work on that thing called “discipline” and all will be well. πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Janeen! πŸ˜€ Oh, I do hope it works for you! πŸ™‚ I know it can be a hit or miss for some people. Do forgive me but I cannot say if this is safe for children as I do not hold a professional degree (yet) in holistic medicine nor am I a mommy. 😦 My guess would be yes because it’s natural. Apple cider vinegar is vinegar made from fermented apples and/or cider. Baking soda is derived from a mineral called natron, which has been used for cleansing from time immemorial. However, I don’t want to be the cause of any potential harm to the head of an innocent child, because I said “Absolutely, this is safe!” πŸ˜› If you do decide to press forward my tips would be to increase the amount of water by another cup. This being because a child’s hair is more delicate and fragile than an adult’s. And please, please remember this method should only be used once a month as it can be very drying if used frequently. I hope that helps. πŸ™‚

    • Hey there! πŸ˜€ Alright!!! That’s awesome!! I’m so glad to hear the good news! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing your results, and please keep checking back for other great articles on DIY homemade solutions. πŸ™‚

    • Why hello there! πŸ˜‰ Do forgive me for taking so long to respond. I’ve been out of town. πŸ˜› Yes, that is an excellent question! You definitely want to restore any moisture loss after clarifying the hair. You can restore moisture by doing a deep conditioning treatment for an hour or more. You can buy a deep conditioner (I like Lekair Cholesterol and SheaMoisture Deep Masque) or make one yourself. I usually prefer the DIY way, because it’s cheap and I like the results. πŸ™‚ Grab your favorite everyday store bought conditioner (I use Yes To Carrots), add some honey, olive oil, and coconut oil and you’ve got a homemade deep conditioner. Well sort of…hahaha. You also can create a more intense conditioning treatment by adding bananas, avocado, or both (just be sure to pop it in the blender first to make it smooth)! For your ends, apply DC to the ends FIRST and apply more heavily, so they have ample time to soak up the moisture. Try to keep the DC on as long as possible. I’ve even slept in it with 2 plastic bags on my head all wrapped in a towel. πŸ˜€ Wake up, rinse with cool water, and “BOOM”! Soft, silky, smooth hair! πŸ˜‰ Hope this helps!

  3. Hi πŸ™‚ I am wondering if I should still do a hot oil treatment on my dry hair before clarifying with your method? I usually do it with my weekly routine when I wash and condition with my Shea Moisture prods, but this is my first time clarifying. So exited to try it, thanks!

    • Hi Lashonda! πŸ™‚ I feel honored that you are asking for my advice. Thank you! I am terribly sorry to respond so late. I hardly post anymore on this webpage, and therefore scarcely check for comments. I sincerely apologize. As for your question, I would skip the hot oil treatment and go straight for the BS/ACV method. Just rinse your hair with water and apply. Afterwards, apply deep conditioner to restore moisture( I just add honey, olive oil, avocado to my favorite daily conditioner for extra oomph), and leave it on for a couple of hours with a plastic shower cap or plastic bag. If your worried about your hair being super dry after the BS/AVC method, I would saturate your hair with palmfuls of conditioner before applying the BS/AVC treatment. Then rinse the conditioner out with cold water. Proceed with the clarifying treatment. Also, I would still followup with a deep conditioner afterwards. Hope this helps! πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Whitney! Thanks for commenting! Yeah, that’s perfectly fine. Just be sure to follow up with a deep conditioning treatment afterwards. If your hair is extremely dry after clarifying, apply some oil or conditioner to help lubricate your hair. Perhaps this tip may also help you: My hair absorbs products better and I get good slip when my hair is soaking wet. Give it a shot! πŸ™‚ Hope this helps! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

