Don’t Be Afraid To Be Who You Are

Dear Reader,

Allow me to impart this bit of wisdom that may seem small, but is a monumental piece to possess in your life. Don’t ever be afraid to be who you are. Pause. I will say it again. Don’t be afraid to be who you are.

Are you desperately seeking the acceptance and approval of others? Do you base your self worth on the opinion of other people? Do you think who you are is embarrassing, unlikable, or shameful? What or who has made you deny your heart’s desires?

Dear one, as long as you keep yourself hidden no one will know how beautifully rare you are. As long as you believe that you’re inadequate, no one will experience your amazing talents. Can you see that you’re not giving anyone an opportunity to fall in love with you?

IMG_3624

In my 28 years of being on this earth, I am still a child at heart. I love to splash in puddles of water, incessantly play pranks on family and friends, I like to race my husband on our bicycles or when we’re hiking, and I still enjoy doing a cannon ball into the pool. I’ve gotten some unusual looks from people who I’ll guess are wondering why a grown woman is dancing in aisles of the grocery store, while singing and laughing at the top of her lungs. I don’t let it bother me. I don’t care. I’m being who I want to be. I’m being me.

Forget about the opinions, expectations, and wants of others. You will find as you traverse through life that there will always be negative people who are too frightened to be different. People who keep their heads down, so they do not draw attention to the “cracks” in their personality. Why are these so-called blemishes unworthy to be shared with the world? Stop listening to those redundant voices in your head that tell you awful things about yourself. Don’t be afraid to be who you are.

Set yourself free! Throw away the mask. Embrace the person your heart is telling you to be.

Leave a Reply

