Homemade Banana Deep Conditioner for Soft Silky Hair

Hi guys!

Boy do I have a special treat for your dry damaged hair! πŸ˜‰ So I’ve been on the hunt for a natural deep conditioner for what seems like forever. If you didn’t know I have dry, fine, and very fragile tight corkscrew curls that are begging for some love. πŸ™‚ Β My hair is very picky about what I put on it, so locating the right product is crucial. I don’t like store-bought conditioners, unless they contain all natural ingredients like the brand SheaMoisture. That is just my preference. I like knowing what exactly I’m putting on my hair and that it’s good for it, as opposed to the commercial conditioners whose ingredients I can’t even pronounce. πŸ˜› Although, the consistency of the product is very important, because my hair hates thick, creamy, and heavy conditioners. I guess you can say I’m a bit of a conditioner snob. LOL! πŸ˜‰ Unfortunately, one has to be when you have hair like mine and you care about what you’re putting on your head. πŸ™‚

I’ve tried several store-bought natural deep conditioners out there with no luck. I finally decided I would just stick with oil treatments. Then while cruising the internet for natural hair care tips,Β I just happened to stumble upon a homemade hair recipe for deep conditioning. At first, I was hesitate about putting bananas in my hair. I mean putting produce on my face is one thing, but in my hair…come on! It’d probably get stuck in my curls and rot! Won’t I smell lovely? πŸ˜› But being the adventurous spirit that I am, I decided to give it a whirl. πŸ™‚

I’m so glad that I did, because after I rinsed it out my hair felt SUPER silky, smooth, and soft. My hair has NEVER felt that great before. That’s how good it was. πŸ˜‰ I’ve decided this is going to be my new deep conditioner!Β If you didn’t know, bananas are very moisturizing and can help dry parched skin or hair. This recipe contains a lot of ingredients with moisturizing qualities, which is why it is so great for the hair! Egg yolks will also restore loss moisture and strengthen the hair, because of the protein in them. Although, I wouldn’t recommend putting a whole egg or egg whites in your hair. First off, egg whites are more suited for people with oily hair, as egg whites are an excellent astringent. In addition, just so you’re aware,Β I’ve tried putting a whole egg in my hair before, and the egg white was horrible to get out. 😦 Of course, it’s your hair. If you have no problem getting egg white out of your hair, then by all means continue. πŸ™‚ For all others, stick with the egg yolks! πŸ˜‰

The website I found the recipe onΒ isΒ http://www.curlynikki.com/2011/01/banana-recipe-for-radiant-natural-hair.html. However, I changed the recipe a bit to fit my own hair needs. I’ll give you my modified version, so you can try mine if you want to. Click on the website link for Curly Nikki’s version.Β So without further or due, I present to you my version of the Homemade Banana Deep Conditioner recipe.

  • 2 over ripe bananas
  • 5 tablespoons of extra virgin oil
  • 1 tablespoon of avocado oil
  • 2 egg yolks (no whites)
  • 3 tablespoons of honey

Combine all of these ingredients,Β except the oils, into your blender. Blend until it is completely smooth. Make sure there are no lumps whatsoever (this is very important so you don’t get banana chunks in your hair). Once you’ve completed this, pour the mixture into a bowl and then add the oils. You could add the oils into your blender with the other ingredients, however, your blender may get an oily residue on it that will be difficult to remove. Therefore, I prefer to add my oils last in a separate bowl. Stir the oils into the mixture, and your ready for application. Apply it to your hair from roots to ends. Then wrap your hair up in a plastic bag or a shower cap. For more penetration, wrap a warm towel over the plastic bag/shower cap. Finally, let it sit on your hair for as long as you feel your hair needs. The longer you leave it on, the better. πŸ™‚ When your ready to rinse, use cold water. This will help lock in the moisture. You can shampoo and condition if you feel you need to, but I just make sure it’s rinsed out real well then head straight for my leave-in conditioner. πŸ™‚

There you have it! Enjoy! Tweet me or leave a comment below letting me know how it worked for you. πŸ™‚

Love,

Nastassia

7 thoughts on “Homemade Banana Deep Conditioner for Soft Silky Hair

  1. I love banana DC, but it is so hard to get it out from my hair that I end up combing my hair … so, I get breakage because my hair is so fragile. Did you get any banana strunks in your hair?

    • Hey again! πŸ˜‰ I’m so honored that your asking for my help. πŸ™‚ This is a great question! πŸ˜€ The first time I tried the banana DC, I had a tangled mess of banana chunks stuck in my hair. πŸ˜› I wondered how anybody could love this DC. πŸ˜› Took me hours to get it combed out. What helped me love and appreciate the banana DC, is like you I stumbled upon someone’s blog, and they revealed the magic solution. πŸ™‚ Blend the crap out of it!! Literally! LOL! πŸ˜€ Stick it in your blender and let it go until there is absolutely nothing left of the bananas. I believe they stated to blend it for 10 minutes. I say blend it for as long as it takes. πŸ™‚ Even if you have to go for 20 minutes, then by all means let it be done. πŸ˜‰ I also have fragile hair and deal with breakage, love. πŸ™‚ Sounds like we’re in the same boat. πŸ™‚ I hope I can be of great help to you! πŸ˜‰

    • Hi! πŸ™‚ Oh my goodness, what a great idea!! πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing! I absolutely agree that buying already pureed bananas takes the work out of it. Plus for a lazy bum like myself (lol), who hates to have to clean anything when I’m finished, this is great! πŸ˜€ Although, I have long hair (bra strap length when straightened), so I would have to purchase 4-5 jars. That makes buying fresh bananas and blending them myself cheaper than buying baby food. πŸ˜› I’m not against at all in trying baby food. I LOVE the no-mess factor of this option, however; if you want to save more money “fresh and mess” is the way to go! πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for commenting! I’m definitely going to try this in the future when I’m feeling super lazy! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

